A lucky group of 30 pupils from the Academy were given the opportunity to work with professional film makers to produce several short films in under ten hours.

The project was part of a film making event called Cinemasports which involves ten hours of movie making and then a screening of the movies created on the same day. Find out more here.

The final screening took place at East Durham College alongside three other local schools who had taken part in the project. The students got to watch entries from all over the world including entries from Laos and Taiwan.

Although everyone did a fantastic job, the winners, chosen by Cinemasports were;

Best Actor Award was awarded to ‘The Heist’ starring

  • EJ Newall

  • Olivia Roberts

  • Mitchell Scott

  • Blaine Armstrong

  • Lewis Calvert

Best UK Entry Award was awarded to ‘Don’t wake up’ starring

  • Mitchell Green

  • Phoebe Cook

  • Ayrton Wilson

  • Amy Grimes and

  • Marc Peacock

  • Also a cameo appearance from Mr Spence

Well done you lot! Check out the fantastic videos below...

  • Sorry, you need JavaScript enabled to view this video.
  • Cinemasports video