Close
Term dates and school timetable

Term dates and parents' evenings

2021/22 term dates

School reopens

School closes

Half term

Thursday 2 September 2021

Friday 17 December 2021

Closes: Friday 22 October

Reopens: Monday 1 November 2021 

Christmas break: 

  • School closes: Friday 17 December
  • School reopens: Wednesday 5 January 2022

Spring Term 2022

School reopens

School closes

Half term

Wednesday 5 January 2022

Friday 8 April 2022

Closes: Friday 18 February 2022

Reopens: Monday 28 February

Easter break:

  • School closes: Friday 8 April 2022
  • School reopens Monday 25 April 2022

Summer Term 2022

School reopens

School closes

Half term

Monday 25 April 2022

Wednesday 20 July 2022

School closes: Friday 27 May 2022

School reopens: Monday 6 June 2022

School will be closed for bank holiday on Monday 2 May 2022

Summer break: School closes Wednesday 20 July 2022

The Academy will also be closed for training purposes on the following days:

  • Wednesday 1 September 2021
  • Friday 1 October 2021
  • Friday 26 November 2021
  • Monday 29 November 2021
  • Tuesday 4 January 2022

2022/23 term dates

 

Autumn Term 2022

School reopens

School closes

Half term

Tuesday 6th September 2022

Tuesday 20 December 2022

Closes: Friday 21 October 2022

Reopens: Monday 31 October 2022

Christmas break: 

  • School closes: Tuesday 20 December 2022
  • School reopens: Wednesday 4 January 2023

Spring Term 2023

School reopens

School closes

Half term

Wednesday 4 January 2023

Friday 31 March 2023

Closes: Friday 17 February 2023

Reopens: Monday 27 February 2023

Easter break:

  • School closes: Friday 31 March 2023
  • School reopens Monday 17 April 2023

Summer Term 2023

School reopens

School closes

Half term

Monday 17 April 2023

Friday 21 July 2023

School closes: Friday 26 May 2023

School reopens: Monday 5 June 2023

School will be closed for bank holiday on Monday 1 May 2023

Summer break: School closes Thursday 20 July 2023

The Academy will also be closed for training purposes on the following days:

  • 5th September 2022
  • 30th September 2022
  • 25th November  2022
  • 28th November 2022

Holidays and absences in term time

New Government regulations have made it clear that a school or Academy may not grant any leave of absence from school during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances. Our duty is to ensure all students have complete access to the education provided and we ask for parental support to ensure this happens.

This means:

  • A parent does not have the right to take a child out of school for a holiday or absence in term time.
  • The school will refuse an application for absence unless parents can demonstrate and prove there are exceptional circumstances relating to the request.
  • Absence from the Academy for any reason has a significant effect on learning and is proven to reduce student grades.
  • If a holiday or an absence is taken when permission has not been granted, it will be recorded as an unauthorised absence (truancy) and noted on the student’s record of achievement. The information will be sent to Durham County Council who will consider whether a fine of £60 should be issued. 
  • If a student already has poor attendance and an unauthorised absence is taken, the information may be sent to Durham County Council Attendance Enforcement Team who will consider legal proceedings at a magistrate’s court.

If you have any queries please contact Mrs Elaine Marriott, Attendance Officer, on 0191 518 0222.