Close
Term dates and school timetable

Term dates and parents' evenings

2018/19 term dates

Summer 2018

(6 weeks)

Friday 20 July 2018

Tuesday 4 September 2018

Autumn half term 2018

(1 week)

Friday 19 October 2018

Monday 29 October 2018

Christmas 2018

(2 weeks)

Friday 21 December 2018

Monday 7 January 2019

Spring half term 2019

(1 week)

Friday 15 February 2019

Monday 25 February 2019

Easter 2019

(2 weeks)

Friday 5 April 2019

Tuesday 23 April 2019

Summer half term 2019

(1 week)

Friday 24 May 2019

Monday 3 June 2019

Summer 2019

(6 weeks)

Friday 19 July 2019

To be determined

The Academy will also be closed for training purposes on the following days:

  • Monday 3 September 2018
  • Friday 5 October 2018
  • Friday 30 November 2018

Parents' evenings

Date 

Year group 

Thursday 4 October 2018 

Year 11 

Thursday 11 October 2018 

Year 7 tutor meeting 

Thursday 6 December 2018 

Year 10 

Thursday 17 January 2019 

Year 11 

Thursday 21 March 2019 

Year 8 

Thursday 28 March 2019 

Year 9 

Thursday 25 April 2019 

Year 10 

Wednesday 27 June 2019 

Year 7 

Holidays and absences in term time

New Government regulations have made it clear that a school or Academy may not grant any leave of absence from school during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances. Our duty is to ensure all students have complete access to the education provided and we ask for parental support to ensure this happens.

This means:

  • A parent does not have the right to take a child out of school for a holiday or absence in term time.
  • The school will refuse an application for absence unless parents can demonstrate and prove there are exceptional circumstances relating to the request.
  • Absence from the Academy for any reason has a significant effect on learning and is proven to reduce student grades.
  • If a holiday or an absence is taken when permission has not been granted, it will be recorded as an unauthorised absence (truancy) and noted on the student’s record of achievement. The information will be sent to Durham County Council who will consider whether a fine of £60 should be issued. 
  • If a student already has poor attendance and an unauthorised absence is taken, the information may be sent to Durham County Council Attendance Enforcement Team who will consider legal proceedings at a magistrate’s court.

If you have any queries please contact Mrs Elaine Marriott, Attendance Officer, on 0191 518 0222.